News / Media

NCGOP Honors Volunteers At Hall Of Fame Celebration

Raleigh, NC – Last night, the North Carolina Republican Party celebrated its 16th Biennial Hall of Fame Awards Celebration at the Embassy Suites in Cary.

More than 330 people were in attendance to celebrate and thank the hardworking volunteers of the North Carolina Republican Party.

The featured speaker of the event was Governor Pat McCrory, who participated in a question and answer session with NCGOP Chairman Claude Pope and NCGOP Vice Chairwoman Joyce Krawiec.

Dignitaries in attendance included Governor McCrory, U.S. Senator Richard Burr, Lt. Governor Dan Forest, Congressman Howard Coble, Congresswoman Renee Ellmers, and Congressman Richard Hudson.

Attendees also participated in an NCGOP straw poll of the Republican U.S. Senate candidates. Thom Tillis came in first place with 58.8% of the votes followed by Greg Brannon, Mark Harris, Bill Flynn and Heather Grant.

The North Carolina Republican Party’s Hall of Fame Celebration was established in 1982 and became a biennial awards event in 1985. Since 1985, in odd-numbered years, the NCGOP recognizes one individual from each Congressional District who has demonstrated a commitment to the North Carolina Republican Party through their years of work and service.  Three statewide awards were also presented, including: the Charles Raper Jonas Award, the J.E. Broyhill Award, and the John P. East Memorial Award.

“It was an honor to celebrate and give thanks to our Hall of Fame winners and nominees, as well as the thousands of volunteers across the state who have been indispensable in our efforts to build and strengthen the North Carolina Republican Party,” said North Carolina Republican Party Chairman Claude Pope. “The tremendous successes of the North Carolina Republican Party would have never been possible without the help of our dedicated grassroots volunteers, and their hard work and unlimited energy will lead us to the finish line in 2014.”


North Carolina Republican Party Hall of Fame Winners


Charles Raper Jonas Award

Rep. George Cleveland

J. E. Broyhill Award

Zan Bunn

John P. East Memorial Award

Vince Colan


First District

Jerry Schill

Second District

Dolores “Do” Shaver

Third District

Kim Hendrix

Fourth District

Joey Stansbury

Fifth District

Hal Jolly

Sixth District

Robert E. Randall

Seventh District

Rep. Carolyn Justice

Eighth District

Congressman Robert “Robin” Cannon Hayes

Ninth District

Claire Mahoney

Tenth District

Neil Moore

Eleventh District

Kathy & Candler Willis

Twelfth District

Marlynn Burns

Thirteenth District

Jeremy Neal