The Republican Party of North Carolina The Republican Party of North Carolina

Lt. Gov. Dan Forest Named National Chair of RLGA

North Carolina Lt. Governor Dan Forest Named Chairman of the Republican Lieutenant Governors Association for 2018
Lt. Gov. Dan Forest
Republican Lieutenant Governors Association

"The Republican Lieutenant Governors Association announced today that North Carolina Lt. Governor Dan Forest will serve as chairman for 2018.

"First elected in 2012, Lt. Governor Forest is only the second Republican elected Lt. Governor in the state of North Carolina since 1897 and the first Republican ever to be re-elected to the position. In 2016, Forest easily defeated his Democratic opponent by over 300,000 votes, gaining more votes than both presidential and gubernatorial candidates. ...

"Lt. Governor Dan Forest released the following statement upon the announcement:

"' It's a tremendous honor to be named chairman of the RLGA for this midterm cycle. My engagement with the RLGA has allowed me to interact with Republican Lt. Governors from around the country, and I'm excited to be able to continue to facilitate those relationships. With 31 Republican Lt. Governors currently in office, Republicans will have a lot of territory to defend in 2018, and I look forward to helping elect Republican Lt. Governors across the country this year.' ...

"'As the highest ranking statewide Republican in North Carolina, Lt. Governor Forest has consistently been an outspoken voice for responsible governance and leadership in the Tar Heel state. Lt. Governor Forest knows what it takes to win in a competitive environment, and with Lt. Governor Griffin at his side, their shared experience will be a tremendous asset to the RLGA in what is expected to be a challenging election year,' said Matt Walter, President of the Republican State Leadership Committee. ...

"In 2016, the RLGA made its largest investment, nearly a million dollars, in its history at that time to a Political Action Committee supporting Lt. Governor Forest's re-election campaign. Since 2016, six Republican Lt. Governors have ascended to become Governors of their respective states."


Click HERE to read the full press release.


Share this post

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.